Skip to main content




Tribal Resettlement and Development Mission (TRDM)



The Tribal Resettlement and Development Mission was formed as per G.O.(P) 63/01/SCSTDD dated 9.11.2001, for implementing the terms of Agreement between the Govt. and the Adivasi Dalit Samara Samithi. The Mission started working on the same day. 

         The objectives of the Mission can be listed out as follows:

  1. Achieve overall socio-economic development of tribal families in the State especially those who are landless and those own less than one acre of land.
  2. Locally suitable cultivable land and assign to eligible tribal families.
  3. Facilitate the participation of tribals in the planning and implementation of the schemes meant for their development.
  4. Considering the large number of landless tribal families in Wayanad district, identify assignable vested forestland in Wayanad district and get clearance of the Government of India for assignment.
  5. Take steps for declaration of the lands under the occupation of the tribal families as Scheduled Area.


The functioning of the TRDM is in four levels:


1.         The Cabinet Sub Committee for Tribal Development under the Chairmanship of Hon. Chief Minister to take timely policy decisions regarding land distribution & development activities.


2.         The Empowered Mission Committee 

            To assist the Cabinet Sub Committee in taking policy decisions regarding the activities of the Tribal Mission. The EMC is headed by the Chief Secretary as Chairman, the Principal Secretary SC/STDD as Vice Chairman and Convener and Principal Secretaries / Secretaries of Forest, Revenue, Planning, Rural Development, Food & Civil Supplies, Scheduled Castes-Scheduled Tribes Development, Local Administration, Health & Family Welfare, Social Welfare, Law, General Education, Agriculture, Irrigation Departments, Land Revenue commissioner, Custodian of Vested Forests, Director of Scheduled Tribes Development Department, etc. as members.


3.         The TRDM – A Committee with Chief as the head and five Members as follows:-


  • Forest Department
  • Agriculture Department
  • Law Department
  • Finance Department
  • Revenue Department


The Mission has a separate office with skeleton staff, and is working in the 5th floor of the Vikas Bhavan, Thiruvananthapuram parallel to Scheduled Tribes Development Department. The Principal Secretary, ST Development Department is now holding the charge of the Chief, TRDM also.  All other Members are not active in TRDM activities at Present


4.         The District Missions
These are formed for the district level co-ordination of activities of the Mission with the concerned District Collector as Chairman and the District Police Superintendent, District Planning Officer, District Panchayath Secretary, District Conservator of Forests, Deputy Collector, Land Assignment (Secretary) District Agriculture Officer, District Soil Conservation Officer, Deputy Director of Education, Project Officer (DRDA), Executive Engineers of Roads, Bridges, Irrigation, Water Authority, & Electricity, Joint Registrar (Co-Operation), District Town Planner, District Officer (Ground Water), District Supply Officer, Manager (NABARD), Lead Bank Representative, Tribal Development Officers/ITD Project Officers (ITDP) as Members.


Main functions of District Missions

  • To find out suitable land for distribution
  • To select the most eligible beneficiaries for land distribution and issue Pattayams
  • To propose suitable projects for the resettled areas for sustainable development
  • To identify any other problems of the resettled families and solve them. 

Activities of the Mission

Progress of distribution of land

  • Land distribution was inaugurated by the then Hon’ble Chief Minister on 1st January 2002 at Marayoor in Idukki District.   
  • Development of the sites assigned and the supporting programmes for the sustenance of the tribal families resettled are given top priority by the Government. Comprehensive development programmes are envisaged including housing, drinking water, communication facilities, road, electricity, community hall and Anganadadi buildings. The concerned District Missions are entrusted with the implementation of these activities.
  • Common Guidelines for the preparation and implementation of development plans for the resettled areas has been issued vide GO(Ms).No.63/02/SCSTDD dated 2.11.02 which has been amended by GO (Ms) No.5/2010/SCSTDD dt: 05.1.2010, GO(Ms) No.24/12/SCSTDD dt:08.02.2012 and GO(Ms) No.136/12/SCSTDD dt: 06.11.2012. Rates and unit cost for each developmental activities as per the Government Order is as shown below.




Item No.

Project / Activity



Temporary huts

Rs. 5,000/- per family


Construction of houses

Rs.2.50 lakhs per family


Agricultural development (Crop Husbandry)

Rs.15,000 / ha. (seasonal crops) Rs.25,000/ ha. (Perennial crops)


Agricultural implements

Rs. 2000 / family


Soil conservation

Rs.15,000 / ha. for slops up to 40%

Rs.30,000/ ha. for slops above 40%


Drinking water

Rs.15,000 / family



Up to  Rs.10 lakhs be sanctioned by TRDM; but above Rs.10 lakhs with the sanction from  Government 



Up to  Rs.10 lakhs be sanctioned by TRDM; but above Rs.10 lakhs with the sanction from  Government 



Actual estimate up to 25 lakhs be sanctioned by TRDM; but above Rs.25 lakhs with the sanction from Government


Employment generation programme

Rs.25,000 per family & 1.25 lakhs  for group enterprises


Animal husbandry

Rs. 12,810 / family


Roof water harvesting

Rs.11,581 / family


Ground water harvesting

Actual estimate of Ground water Department for digging of Bore wells


Ferro cement tanks

Rs.4,000 / family


Anganavadi / Balavadi

Rs. 2 lakhs / Anganavadi building


Community hall, library etc.

Actual estimate upto Rs.25 lakhs by TRDM; but above Rs.25 lakhs with the sanction from Government



Major Resettlement Areas under TRDM:

























0 Items Total: $0